Scheduling

The illusion that most of America has is that dancers practice everyday of the week immediately after school until 10 at night. While that is the case for some studios it’s definitely not the case for all. To be a dancer you don’t have to drop out of everything else you’re doing and eat, sleep and breathe just dance. You can fit dance into the schedule you already have. You’d be surprised at how easily you can fit even just one class into your crazy hectic life.

 

Personally I dance two days a week but I am at the studio three days a week. I dance on Wednesdays and Sundays. But I also help teach a class on Monday nights. In addition to that I have show choir on Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Monday I teach 3 year olds for 45 minutes. On Wednesday I have a Technique, Ballet and Pointe class totaling three hours for the night. On Sundays I have 3 hours and 15 minutes worth of troupe (what we call our competition teams) this includes Tap, Jazz, Contemporary and 15 minutes to warm up. I then also have a Hip Hop class and  Modern class adding in another hour and a half. In addition to that I have 3 hours of show choir twice a week and find time to do all of my homework after being at school from 7:00 to 3:45. Along with usually being in bed by 9 or 9:30.

 

So if you even remotely want to try dance but think to yourself “I just don’t have time.” I challenge you to give it a shot because I know you won’t regret it! Most classes ten to be 45 minutes to an hour per style and it never feels like you’ve been there that long. Once you get going you look up and realize its been 55 of the 60 minutes when you feel as if its only been 15 minutes. Dance can be a great get away from all the other stress in your life and schedule. A way to just forget all your worries for a while, relax and have fun. Along with making new friends who had you not started dancing you would have never met because you don’t attend the same school or a multitude of other reasons. Dance is all around a great thing that gives you many new opportunities.