The Last Week

This week is the last week of classes at the dance studio before dance recital. Starting next week we will have onstage rehearsals and then a dress rehearsal on Thursday, a recital friday, two dress rehearsals on saturday and two recitals on Sunday. The last week of classes at the studio is always a little bit stressful because the teachers are trying to squeeze in last-minute changes and cleaning of the dances before we perform them for an audience. While I love dance and love being able to perform by this time in the year I am ready for a change. This is because by this time in the year we’ve been doing the same dance in our core classes since November or December and in our Troupe classes we’ve been doing the same dances since June or July. I really do like all of my dances this year and I am excited to perform them for an audience but I’m also excited to begin new dances.

With recital so soon our teachers have been focusing more on our dances which means that we don’t spend as much time practicing technical things during class. While this isn’t a bad thing if it’s only for a few weeks I do miss the practice. Working on technique this time of the year is my favorite because like I’ve said I begin to get bored with my dances and it gives me a nice challenge and something new to work on. This is why I am super excited to being summer classes because other than troupe classes the summer classes are purely technique which really gets us ahead in the long run. However in troupe classes we begin learning the dances over the summer because we compete starting as early as January where as in the non troupe classes we can start much later because we don’t perform until June. These next few weeks are going to be a little hectic with not only recital but ending the school year. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment